D-Link DSL-200/RU Generation III

Installation/usage of EciAdsl driver under Linux

D-Link DSL-200/RU Generation III

Postby SAABeilin » Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:45

Hi all!

I recently perchased a D-Link DSL-200/RU modem, with a label "Generation III" on it. USB ID's are 0915/8104 (both pri & sec), these IDs are not listed on the EciAdsl site and I even cannot find the chipset it is based on (gs7070 or maybe 7470?)

When trying to make it run under Ubuntu 6.06 ('Dapper Drake'), it even does not blink with ADSL LED.

Well, when running eciadsl-start, I have the following:

Bus 001 Device 017: ID 0915:8104 GlobeSpan, Inc.

- yes, that's true;

[EciAdsl 1/5] Setting up USB support...
Preliminary USB device filesystem is OK

-- no doubt, as soon as I run 2.6.15 kernels;

[EciAdsl 2/5] Uploading firmware...
Process skipped .. no more needed
firmware loaded successfully

-- not shure this is correct?

[EciAdsl 3/5] Synchronization...
OK eciadsl-synch: success
Synchronization successful

-- this is wrong! It does not depend on the sync file, and the ADSL LED does not blink!


[EciAdsl 4/5] Connecting to provider...
Connection successful
[EciAdsl 5/5] Setting up route table...
Waiting for tap0...
tap0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 96:8D:7D:41:2C:84
inet6 addr: fe80::948d:7dff:fe41:2c84/64 Диапазон:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:90 (90.0 b)

-- unbelievable :) Really, there's no connection (I just unplug the cable and nothing changes), but the tap0 interface appears for one or two seconds ;-)

Well, any directions to dig? :)

P.S. I used eciadsl-usermode packages, one buit for Ubuntu (taklen from official Ubuntu repository) and other built for Debian (taken from the EciaAdsl site) -- nothing changes. Should I try to build EciAdsl from sources?


With best regards,
Sergei A. Beilin
Samara, Russia
SAABeilin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:30
Location: Samara, Russia

Postby FlashCode » Mon Jul 31, 2006 15:18

I'm 99% sure you have GS7470 chipset (I think old GS7070 is not made any more).
All seems ok, and you have tap0 interface, this means you choosed a pppoe mode, right?
If yes, you have to run a pppoe client after eciadsl-start (but you have to be sure pppoe is ok for your provider!). You can use rp-pppoe for example.

Anyway please keep us informed for your modem status under linux. If you have a photo, please send me. If you manage to connect, please send me all needed info, like your /etc/eciadsl/eciadsl.conf and other info on modems page (city, provider, ..). With that I'll be able to add your modem on our database. Thank you.
Sébastien - EciAdsl Linux driver developer.
EciAdsl support : web: http://eciadsl.flashtux.org - e-mail: flashcode@flashtux.org - IRC: irc.freenode.net, channel #eci
User avatar
FlashCode
EciAdsl Developer
 
Posts: 3574
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 02:00
Location: France

Postby SAABeilin » Mon Jul 31, 2006 17:41

All seems ok, and you have tap0 interface, this means you choosed a pppoe mode, right?


Yes (I try the bridge-mode + pppoe) and no (no tap0):
1) If I even UNPLUG the modem from the tel line, it also says it syncs :)))
2) the tap0 interface stays alive for no more then 2 seconds. In _both_ cases (cable plugged or unplugged)

The strange thing is that the ADSL LED does not even blink when the driver says it is syncronising... I cannon test this under Windows, because I do not have nor license neither media...

Anyway please keep us informed for your modem status under linux.


Sure!

If you have a photo, please send me.


It looks exactly as DSL-200 rev.B, Image

I'll keep on trying, testing syncfiles, etc., and infrom you of the success.

Is there any way to identify the chip? I do not want to unscrew the modem as I will loose warranty :-)

Some additional details on my modem:

Code: Select all
sbeilin@xpriment:~$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 023: ID 0915:8104 GlobeSpan, Inc.


Code: Select all
sbeilin@xpriment:~$ sudo eciadsl-probe-device
/** skipped */
your USB devices:
3:  USB-ADSL Modem / Conexant, Inc. (0915:8104)
/** skipped */
probed USB device: USB-ADSL Modem / Conexant, Inc.
VID1=0915, PID1=8104
VID2=0915, PID2=8104
Did you really unplug/replug your modem before launching this script?


1) why it says it's Conexant (GlobeSpan == Conexant?)
2) VID1/PID1 are the same as VID2/PID2, is this an error?

And an extract from /proc/bus/usb/devices
Code: Select all
T:  Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 23 Spd=12  MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=0915 ProdID=8104 Rev= 1.00
S:  Manufacturer=Conexant, Inc.
S:  Product=USB-ADSL Modem


P.S. I purchased the modem from a dealer, not from the provider,
Best regards,
Sergei A. Beilin

JabberID: SAABeilin@jabber.ru
SAABeilin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:30
Location: Samara, Russia

Postby iron » Mon Jul 31, 2006 20:51

I have the same modem.
Try to set

Code: Select all
SYNCH_ALTIFACE=0
PPPOECI_ALTIFACE=0

in file eciadsl.conf

Maybe this can help you :)
iron
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 01:52
Location: SPb, Russia

Postby SAABeilin » Mon Jul 31, 2006 21:17

Now I get ONLY the following message:

Code: Select all
Testing synch with /etc/eciadsl/gs7470_synch01.bin..
ERROR can't set configuration 1
ERROR eciadsl-synch: failed


I tried to unplug the modem, restart the udev event manager -- nothing helps. This happens with every synch file.

It's a shame, but I don't know what to do :-(

BTW, can anyone explain me, what are:
1) SYNCH_ALTIFACE and PPPOECI_ALTIFACE parameters?
2) synchronisation files (is this ATM-related?)


P.S. No-no, don't ask me to reboot :) I reboot only when I have to insert/remove a PCI card or a harddrive, that is, twice a year ;-)

P.P.S. 2iron: could you give me your full config-file, system info, etc?

P.P.P.S. I _must_ make it work ;-)
Best regards,
Sergei A. Beilin

JabberID: SAABeilin@jabber.ru
SAABeilin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:30
Location: Samara, Russia

Some success

Postby SAABeilin » Tue Aug 01, 2006 13:25

Got a little success...

1. Borrowed a Windows notebook from my office, plugged in the modem and installed windows drivers from the CD, and USB sniffer. While under Windows, the modem connected OK with no errors at a hight speed (yes! that means that the modem itself is OK and the tel line is also OK). Saved the log, copied it to my linux-box, and created a synh file from it (no errors).

2. Copied the synch to /etc/eciadsl, edited the eciadsl.conf, plugged in the modem, and ran eciadsl-start. Wow!
2.1 The modem started to blink with the LED! It did not blink before;
2.2 The script reported a successful synchronisation, the ADSL LED is still "on";
2.3 the tap0 interface appeared;
2.4 ppp started somwhere inthe background;
2.5 tap0 interface disappered, the ADSL LED went "off";
2.6 tap0 interface appeared again, but the ADSL LED is still "off";
2.7 tap0 interface disappeared!!! the ADSL LED is now "on" and not blinking

3, 4 and so on: running the start-eciadsl script again gives me an synchronisation error, the ADSL LED doen not blink (it is either off or on). If I unplug and replug the modem, I can see the same picture -- it synchronises ONCE, tap0 interface jumps, the everything goes off.
Best regards,
Sergei A. Beilin

JabberID: SAABeilin@jabber.ru
SAABeilin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:30
Location: Samara, Russia

Postby MolbO » Wed Sep 13, 2006 23:20

Some body have this problem solver?
some succesefull results with dsl200?
устал умри
MolbO
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 22:49

Postby enikesha » Mon Jan 22, 2007 08:58

yep, i've got same issue and solved it rolling back to 0.10 (eciadsl-usermode-0.10-nortek-alpha)
enikesha
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 08:55
Location: Spb, Russia

dlink 200

Postby hamed_forum » Fri Feb 09, 2007 08:21

i have problem in ubuntu when start eciadsl-start said

[EciAdsl 1/5] Setting up USB support...

Preliminary USB device filesystem is OK

[EciAdsl 2/5] Uploading firmware...

ERROR: modem not found

i dont now how to instal in deb onlyinstaall this file
dpkg -i /path/eciadsl-usermode_x.y-1_i386.deb
is should install or need
Sources (.tar.gz): tar xvzf /path/eciadsl-usermode-x.y.tar.gz
• Sources (.tar.bz2): tar xvjf /path/eciadsl-usermode-x.y.tar.bz2
to install plz help me
hamed_forum
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 07:48

Postby FlashCode » Fri Feb 09, 2007 19:18

You can install package (should be available, otherwise try .deb on our download page):
Code: Select all
dpkg -i eciadsl-usermode....deb

If you can't manage to install Debian package, then you can install sources, this will work without problem (of course you'll need compiler tools to compile them).
Sébastien - EciAdsl Linux driver developer.
EciAdsl support : web: http://eciadsl.flashtux.org - e-mail: flashcode@flashtux.org - IRC: irc.freenode.net, channel #eci
User avatar
FlashCode
EciAdsl Developer
 
Posts: 3574
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 02:00
Location: France

Postby hamed_forum » Sat Feb 10, 2007 13:21

thaks when use dpkg -i eciadsl-usermode....deb the modem is connect or no?
hamed_forum
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 07:48

Postby FlashCode » Sat Feb 10, 2007 15:12

You can install package with modem plugged or not. You have to plug modem before running eciadsl-start.
Sébastien - EciAdsl Linux driver developer.
EciAdsl support : web: http://eciadsl.flashtux.org - e-mail: flashcode@flashtux.org - IRC: irc.freenode.net, channel #eci
User avatar
FlashCode
EciAdsl Developer
 
Posts: 3574
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 02:00
Location: France

Postby hamed_forum » Sat Feb 10, 2007 21:02

i am install deb by you comand and use eciadsl-start. but say in step 2 you modem cant find i see my etc/eciadsl dont have any bin file i download bin file and copy in this dirctory but dont work i and message the modem dont find help me
hamed_forum
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 07:48

Postby hamed_forum » Sun Feb 18, 2007 15:08

i have problem in ubuntu when start eciadsl-start said

[EciAdsl 1/5] Setting up USB support...

Preliminary USB device filesystem is OK

[EciAdsl 2/5] Uploading firmware...

ERROR: modem not found
plz help me i cant
hamed_forum
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 07:48

Postby FlashCode » Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:06

Did you choose good modem in list with eciadsl-config-tk/eciadsl-config-text ?
Check your VID/PID in /etc/eciadsl/eciadsl.conf and compare with our modems page:
http://eciadsl.flashtux.org/modems.php
Sébastien - EciAdsl Linux driver developer.
EciAdsl support : web: http://eciadsl.flashtux.org - e-mail: flashcode@flashtux.org - IRC: irc.freenode.net, channel #eci
User avatar
FlashCode
EciAdsl Developer
 
Posts: 3574
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 02:00
Location: France

Next

Return to EciAdsl - Linux installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests

cron